Ricotta, Basil & Reggiano Parmesan Wholemeal Spaghetti with Juicy Chicken Thighs, Chorizo & Crunchy Breadcrumbs Recipe

 Hey, hey, hey!!

Hope you are all having a wonderful day! I have currently torn the muscles
in my lower back (incorrect form when squatting) so I can’t really do
much! So I thought today is the day to publish my Italian dinner recipe.

I have never used ricotta in my cooking before but I wanted to use it as
opposed to using cream. This was the first time making the recipe and my
sous chef (sister) helped me.

The following post explains the recipe method.

Creamy Wholemeal Spaghetti with Juicy Chicken Thighs with Chorizo and Crunchy Breadcrumbs

Serves 6 people

Ingredients

Chicken

  • 1 pound of boneless chicken thighs (you can use breast if you wish)
  • Tablespoon of butter and tsp olive oil,
  • pinch of oregano and garlic granules
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • Tablespoon of lemon juice

Breadcrumbs

  • Cup of fresh breadcrumbs
  • Tablespoon of butter
  • Pinch of oregano
  • Salt and pepper to taste

The Spaghetti

  • 4 whole garlic cloves, skins left on
  • Small red onion, roughly chopped
  • Two peppers (any colour), roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 pound dry wholemeal spaghetti
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1/2 cup reggiano parmesan, grated finely
  • Salt and black pepper to taste
  • Handful of fresh basil leaves, roughly chopped (and some extra for garnish)
  • 1 tablespoon of ricotta
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • Half a chorizo sausage, skin removed and chopped into small chunks

Cook spaghetti according to directions (salted water and a
splash of extra virgin oil to stop it sticking) reserve a tablespoon of
pasta water.

Clean the fat of the chicken and marinate in a
tablespoon of lemon juice. In a separate bowl add the stock cube, tsp
olive oil and tablespoon of melted butter, garlic granules and oregano and mix. Pour onto the chicken and place in the fridge. 

In a griddle pan add peppers, garlic, and onions and coat with a
tablespoon of olive oil. Have the gas on medium and cook until the skins
on the garlic coves start peeling away and look caramelized (around ten
minutes- keep an eye on it and mix it now and again)

When the garlic is cooked, remove the ingredients from the griddle pan in a
large pot, take the skins of garlic cloves and chop then, add into the
big pot.

Fry chorizo cubes in griddle pan until chorizo oil comes out and starts to
brown then add in the chorizo bits into the  big pot along with the garlic and vegetables (do not pour the chorizo oil in as the chicken will be cooked in this)

Add 1/3 cup of olive oil to the griddle pan and add the chicken, make sure
you don’t over crowd. I cooked it for 20 minutes until it started to
crispen and then switched the gas off – be aware that the oil spits a lot so please be careful.

Add the spaghetti into the pot with the vegetables etc and add pasta water to prevent
it from sticking. Put on a low heat, add the parmasan and ricotta,
basil leaves and pour the oil from the griddle pan into the pot and mix
(reserve the chicken on the side for now)

Whilst it is re-heating, in a separate pan, make the breadcrumbs by melting
butter, adding the bread, herbs and seasoning until toasted and golden.
Add chicken on top of the spaghetti and serve onto individual plates.
Finish with grated parmasan and breadcrumbs. The picture below was taken
on my sisters phone.

It was such a moreish dish! My dad could not stop saying it was the most
tastiest Italian meal he had ever eaten! I am so happy that the first
time using ricotta was a success!

I had more than half of the ricotta left in its tub. I made a luscious cauliflower mash by following Chrissy Teigen’s instructions here

 

 

That is a wrap for now! You have got to try this. To be honest I wish I made double the batch!
Have any of you used ricotta in your cooking? If so I would love to get inspiration from my fellow readers.
Happy Sunday.
Kimren xo

Leave a comment